The Order and Release Dates of Tekken Games: A Chronological Look

As the Tekken series celebrates three decades this year, we figured it’d be an opportune moment to amble down memory lane, checking out all the Tekken games sorted by year. Tekken is among the most revered and enduring fighting game series around, and while it’s particularly linked with PlayStation — the initial six games in this list were PS exclusives — Xbox players have been able to join the King of Iron Fist Tournament starting with Tekken 6 on the Xbox 360. Several of the Tekken games also received special versions and some extra content (like Tekken 5: Dark Resurrection) — we’re going to skip those and just focus on the core games here.

Alongside Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter, Tekken is among the finest fighting game series to ever grace the planet. Like all fighting games, the storyline is completely insane as well, and if you’re keen to follow the whole saga, then this list will help you along.

The Tekken series in order: Quick rundown

  1. Tekken (1995)
  2. Tekken 2 (1996)
  3. Tekken 3 (1998)
  4. Tekken Tag Tournament (2000)
  5. Tekken 4 (2002)
  6. Tekken 5 (2005)
  7. Tekken 6 (2009)
  8. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 (2012)
  9. Street Fighter X Tekken (2012)
  10. Tekken Revolution (2013)
  11. Tekken 7 (2017)
  12. Tekken 8 (2024)

The Tekken series in order: Chronological and release

1. Tekken

Unlike other long-standing series, the Tekken games don’t jump about in time. There are a few non-canon entries, but even these appear to take place chronologically after the preceding game. So, unlike our Call of Duty games in order list, which jumps around everywhere, the Tekken games maintain the same chronological and release order. But don’t confuse the straightforward timeline for an uncomplicated storyline, because it gets crazy.

2. Tekken 2


… (The process is repeated for the remaining games)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *