YGOrganization | [OCG] January 26, 2024 Rulings Update

All noteworthy backings.

 

 

“If the result of my adversary’s Kycoo the Ghost Annihilator is in action, can I trigger System Down?”
Q: Kycoo the Ghost Annihilator is face-up in my adversary’s Monster Zone, and its Continuous Result that forbids me from banishing cards is in action. In this position, can I trigger System Down?
A: It can be triggered as long as there is a Machine monster in your adversary’s Monster Zone. Additionally, if the result of Kycoo the Ghost Annihilator is in action when the result of System Down resolves, only the Machine monsters your adversary controls will be expelled. If there are no Machine monsters in your adversary’s Monster Zone and only in their GY, you cannot activate System Down.

Source

 

“If the result of Necrovalley is in action, can I trigger Rage with Eyes of Blue?”
Q: Necrovalley is face-up in the Field Zone. In this position, can I trigger Rage with Eyes of Blue?
A: It can be triggered. Additionally, if the result of Necrovalley is in action when the result resolves but there are any cards in your GY, the result of Rage with Eyes of Blue will be one that applies to a card in the GY, so its result is negated.

Source

 

“If the result of G.B. Hunter is in action, what occurs to the result of Deskbot Base that sends back my adversary’s cards to the Deck?”
Q: If the Continuous Result of G.B. Hunter is in action, can the third result of Deskbot Base be triggered? Additionally, what happens if the result of G.B. Hunter is in action when that result resolves?
A: It can be triggered as long as there is at least 1 card in your adversary’s hand or GY. If the result of G.B. Hunter is in action when the result of Deskbot Base resolves, shuffle all cards in your adversary’s hand and GY into the Deck.

Source

 

“If the result of Necrovalley is in action, can the result of a Crystron Phoenix that was Synchro Summoned be triggered?”
Q: While the result of Necrovalley is in action, I Synchro Summoned a Crystron Phoenix. In this case, can I trigger the first result of Crystron Phoenix?
A: The result can be triggered as long as your adversary has a Spell/Trap Card on field. Additionally, if the result of Necrovalley is still in action when you resolve the result but there are any Spell/Trap Cards in your adversary’s GY, the result of Crystron Phoenix will be one that applies to a card in the GY, so its result is negated. If there are no Spell/Trap Cards in your adversary’s GY when resolving the result of Crystron Phoenix, all Spell/Trap Cards your adversary controls are banished.

Source

 

“Can I trigger Terror of Trishula if the result of Necrovalley is in action?”
Q: Can I trigger Terror of Trishula if the result of Necrovalley is in action?
A: It can be triggered in the following situations.
● If you control 1 or 2 face-up “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters with different names, and your adversary controls at least 1 card.
● If you control 3 or more face-up “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters with different names, and your adversary controls at least 1 card or has at least 1 card in their hand.

When resolving the result, if you only control 1 different face-up “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monster, apply the result “banish 1 card your adversary controls”.

When resolving the result, if you control 2 different face-up “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters and there are no cards in your adversary’s GY, apply the result “banish 1 card your adversary controls”.

When resolving the result, if you control 3 or more different face-up “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters and there are no cards in your adversary’s GY, apply the results “banish 1 card your adversary controls” and “banish 1 random card from your adversary’s hand”.

When resolving the result, if you control 2 or more different face-up “Ice Barrier” Synchro Monsters but your adversary has any cards in their GY, the result of Terror of Trishula will be one that applies to a card in the GY, so the result is negated and no result is applied.

Source

 

The first five rulings show a reversal on how “mass removal” results that apply to more than 1 location interact with results that prevent the removal action from taking place. Previously, these results could not be triggered if there were any cards in the location where you aren’t allowed to apply their result to. Now you can trigger them as long as they can apply to cards in other locations, and they’ll only apply to those. (The exception here is Necrovalley, because it has that additional result that negates anything that will try to apply to cards in the GY.)

 

“If a Normal Summoned Phantom of Chaos gains the effects of Segmental Dragon, can the gained result be triggered?”
Q: A Normal Summoned Phantom of Chaos activated its effect and gained the effects of Segmental Dragon. If there is a face-up monster in my adversary’s Main Monster Zone with 2600 or less ATK, can I trigger the effect of Segmental Dragon gained by Phantom of Chaos?
A: It can be triggered. In that situation, Phantom of Chaos is destroyed, and all face-up monsters in the Main Monster Zones with 2600 or less ATK are destroyed.
If the following monsters that were Normal Summoned gained the effects of Segmental Dragon, they can also activate that result if there is at least 1 other face-up monster in the Main Monster Zone with ATK less than or equal to their ATK.
– The Tyrant Neptune
– Neo-Spacian Dark Panther

Source

 

“If a Fusion Summoned Starving Venom Fusion Dragon gains the effects of Time Wizard of Tomorrow, can the gained result be triggered?”
Q: A Fusion Summoned Starving Venom Fusion Dragon activates its effect and gains the effects of Time Wizard of Tomorrow. In that situation, can Starving Venom Fusion Dragon activate the effect gained from Time Wizard of Tomorrow?
A: Yes, it can.
If the following monsters that were Fusion Summoned gained the effects of Time Wizard of Tomorrow, they can also activate that result.
– Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom
– Starving Venemy Dragon
– Windwitch – Crystal Bell

Source

 

“Can a Phantom of Chaos that gained the effects of Creator of Chaos activate its effect?”
Q: If Phantom of Chaos or Neo-Spacian Dark Panther was Special Summoned from the hand and gained the effects of Creator of Chaos, can the gained result be triggered?
A: Yes, it can.

Source

 

The above three rulings are reversals on effect copiers now being able to activate results that required the original monster to be Summoned a certain way. Previously, they could not activate them (even if the copiers themselves had been Summoned that way). The new rulings are more intuitive.

 

“What occurs if Exodia, the Legendary Defender, which was Normal Summoned by Tributing 5 monsters, is banished by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter?”
Q: Exodia, the Legendary Defender, which was Normal Summoned by its own method of Tributing 5 monsters, is banished temporarily by the effect of Interdimensional Matter Transporter. When Exodia, the Legendary Defender returns to the field during the End Phase, what occurs to its ATK/DEF? Also, if that Exodia, the Legendary Defender destroys a DARK Fiend monster owned by my adversary by battle, will I win the Duel?
A: When Exodia, the Legendary Defender returns to the Monster Zone, its ATK/DEF each become 0. Also, if that Exodia, the Legendary Defender destroys a DARK Fiend monster owned by your adversary by battle, you will win the Duel.

Source

 

“If Slifer the Sky Dragon and an opponent’s monster are Special Summoned at the same time, will the effect of Slifer the Sky Dragon activate?”
Q: If my Slifer the Sky Dragon and an opponent’s monster are Special Summoned at the same time by the effect of Albion the Sanctifire Dragon, will the effect of Slifer the Sky Dragon activate?
A: It will not activate. In order to activate the last result of Slifer the Sky Dragon, another monster must be Special Summoned in face-up Attack Position while Slifer the Sky Dragon is already face-up in the Monster Zone.
Similarly, when activating the following monster results, the activation requirements are only met if another monster is Special Summoned while that monster is already face-up in the Monster Zone. (These results will not activate if the monsters are Special Summoned at the same time.)
– Red-Eyes Soul
– Lord Gaia the Fierce Knight
– Amazement Administrator Arlekino
– The Iris Swordsoul
– Catoblepas and the Witch of Fate
– Gizmek Uka, the Festive Fox of Fecundity
– Meklord Astro Dragon Asterisk
– Keaf, Murk of the Ghoti
– Shinobi Necro
– Bystial Baldrake
– World Legacy – “World Chalice”
– Superheavy Samurai Kabuto
– D/D/D Flame King Genghis
– D/D/D Flame High King Genghis
– D/D/D Gust King Alexander
– D/D/D Gust High King Alexander
– Dramaturge of Despia
– Topologic Bomber Dragon
– Amunessia, the Ogdoadic Queen
– Rescue-ACE Fire Engine
– U.A. Blockbacker
– Naturia Antjaw
– Naturia Camellia
– Naturia Strawberry
– Naturia Horneedle
– Kumongous, the Sticky String Kaiju
– Absolute Crusader
– Merry Melffys
– Melffy Catty
– Melffy Puppy
– Melffy Fenny
– Melffy Pony
– Melffy Wally
– Ultimate Flagship Ursatron
– Mysterion the Dragon Crown
– Lancea, Dragonic Ancestor of the Ice Spirit Mountain
– Swordsoul Sinister Sovereign – Qixing Longyuan
– Plunder Patrollship Jord
– Vampire Sucker
– Crusadia Spatha
– Salamangreat Pyro Phoenix
– Trickstar Divaridis
– Yuki-Onna, the Absolute Zero Mayakashi
– Ryu Okami

Source

 

Lastly, two miscellaneous reversals. Exodia, the Legendary Defender would previously not be able to apply its victory condition after being temporarily banished. The last ruling isn’t a reversal for Slifer itself, but there were several listed monsters that could use their results even when the monster was Special Summoned at the same time as itself, and others that couldn’t. Now they are all unified in not being able to.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *